Thoughts #1: Love, accepting and stillness

a cloud I met the other day by Kat Skygazer

It isn’t that I don’t want to experience romantic love. It’s just that I don’t see how it would make me happy. Contentment is something I’ve never had before, and now that I’m witnessing a glimpse of it, I’d give credit to two things: acceptance and stillness. Not romance.

There’s liberation in watching things fall apart as you stand uncomfortably but with satisfaction because you know you’ve tried to make the best of the cards you’ve been dealt.

Being aware of your failed efforts and accepting your current circumstances is important. You could choose to worry about it, but that won’t change anything, so you might as well say yes to life and its happenings. 

There’s calmness in pausing for a few minutes during your day and taking everything in. Like how you truly feel at that moment about the past, present, and future. With the aim of just observing that particular emotion and letting your mind do what it does best, think.

Acceptance goes hand in hand with stillness. Stillness is important for observing your current emotions, thoughts, environment, and the people around you. Only when you can do this, can you accept these things, and to me, that is the type of love I’m searching for. Being in love with the world exactly how it is without trying to change anything. The good, the best, the bad, and the worst. All of it is part of life, and I’m just glad I can feel it all.

Published by katskygazer

Modern-day Artist with a severe case of Logophilia and Nephophilia. In simple terms, I love clouds and words.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started